

## 1. WRITE A SHORT NOTE ON CLASSICAL LANGUAGE STATUS.

In 2004, the Government of India decided to create new agency of languages called as 'classical status'. In 2006, it laid down the criteria for conferring the classical language status. Till 2016, the six languages are granted the classical language status. They are Tamil, Sanskrit, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, and Odia.

